Text size

Line spacing


Placeholder Placeholder
Background image
For visually impaired

Tartu Peace Treaty 100

Information about the City Council of Tartu and City Government of Tartu
Raekoda, 51003 Tartu
Phone 1789


100th anniversary of the Tartu Peace Treaty

On 2 February 2020, it will be 100 years since the signing of the Tartu Peace Treaty between the Republic of Estonia and Soviet Russia.

By concluding the Tartu Peace Treaty on 2 February 1920, Russia recognised the independence of the Republic of Estonia and ended the War of Independence. Tartu Peace Treaty opened the door for Estonia’s international recognition. The Tartu Peace Treaty was signed in Tartu at Aia Street, House No. 35. The negotiations began on 25 July 1919 and lasted until 1 February 1920, when the text of the agreement was finally put on paper.

The Tartu Peace Treaty was signed by Estonia by the members of the Constituent Assembly Jaan Poska, Ants Piip, Mait Püüman, Julius Seljamaa and Maj-Gen Jaan Soots.

With the treaty, Russia recognised Estonia's independence for an eternal time forever de jure, voluntarily and forever withdrawing from all sovereign rights that Russia had had for the people and land of Estonia.

The Treaty was ratified by the Supreme Soviet of the Soviet Union on 4 February and by the Estonian Constituent Assembly on 13 February 1920.

The agreement consists of 20 articles and contains not only the termination of the state of war but also articles on the recognition of the Estonian state concerning border, security, economic, social and traffic policy.

Photo by Armin Lomp
Photo by Armin Lomp


Information is being updated...

Ajaloolised fotod Tartu rahulepingu sõlmimisest


Last changed 30.12.2019