Text size

Line spacing


Placeholder Placeholder
Background image
For visually impaired


Tartu City Council

The City Council of Tartu, with its 49 members, is the representative body of the municipal government that is elected by the electorate of the City of Tartu in every four years.

Based on the results of the elections of 17 October 2021 the City Council is formed of representatives of six political parties. The biggest faction in Tartu City Council is that of the Estonian Reform Party (19 members), followed by the Estonian Conservative People’s Party (8 members), the Estonia 200 Party (8 members), the Estonian Social Democratic Party (5 members), the Isamaa Party (5 members) and the Estonian Centre Party (4 members). The Reform Party, the Estonian Social Democratic Party and the Isamaa Party have formed a coalition.

The work of the City Council is organised by Chairman Kaspar Kokk (Isamaa Party). In his absence, duties are performed by Vice-chairman Reno Laidre (Estonian Reform Party). The Chairman and Vice-chairman, along with the leaders of the factions, form the Board of the City Council, which discusses issues connected with the organisation of the work of the City Council.

The exclusive competence of the City Council includes important decisions such as the adoption and amendment of the city budget and the taking of loans; establishing procedures for granting benefits from the city budget and for the administration and use of city assets; adoption of the city development plan and comprehensive and detailed plans.

The City Council of Tartu has eight standing committees, each with different scopes of activity. They function as advisory bodies to the City Council. Committees review draft legislative acts, present proposals regarding them and initiate discussions.

Meetings of the City Council take place at least once a month. Meetings are broadcast live.

Tartu City Council
Raekoja plats 1a (Tartu City Hall)
51003 Tartu
E-mail: [email protected]


City Council meeting

Last changed 13.11.2023